In order to promote and facilitate cross-disciplinary research and collaboration, CERTAIN has established the CERTAIN Faculty Fellows (CFF) program: a core group of faculty dedicated to advancing research, education and/or outreach related to energy development.

The three Faculty Fellows for 2017-2018 are:


  • Ilham El-Monier, Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Building upon the reintroduction of the petroleum engineering minor in the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Professor El-Monier will be developing the curricula for four new courses: Introduction to Petroleum Engineering, Reservoir Engineering, Drilling and Production Engineering, and Project Evaluation Management. In addition to geologic and technical aspects, the curricula will address local environmental, health, and community impacts of developing energy resources at a competitive cost.


  • Jeffrey Jacquet, School of Environment and Natural Resources

Professor Jacquet proposes to develop the Ohio Energy Geographies project as a springboard to increase energy literacy in Ohio, and OSU’s capacity for energy-related outreach and education.  The project will encompass a website (, general audience publications and webinars that highlight the geographical distribution of energy resources, as well as a mail survey that applies and illustrates this concept by measuring the energy development attitudes and preferences of Ohio residents from different regions in the state.


  • Sharuya Prakash, Department of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

Professor Prakash plans to assemble a strong, multi-disciplinary team in order to pursue collaborative proposals addressing the energy-water nexus and more broadly, the energy-environment nexus. Specifically, the immediate target is the NSF Industry-University Cooperative Research Center (NSF-IUCRC) program.